Header Ads

Ballon d'Or History

The history of the Ballon d'Or begins in 1956 when the French magazine France Football decided to award an award to the best footballer of the year. The condition is that the player must have the nationality of a European country. In 1995 it was opened to the rest of nationalities, but the footballer had to be registered in a competition on the European continent. This condition would eventually be eliminated. In 2009 it was merged with the FIFA World Player, but since 2016 to be awarded by France Football.

No winner in 2020

The coronavirus prevented the Ballon d'Or gala from being held. The paralysis of competitions for months and global health restrictions made it impossible for this prestigious award to be awarded.

Leo Messi is one of the great favorites to win this individual award. A trophy that the Argentine has won six times, beating his great rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who has five. This is the record of the Ballon d'Or

No comments

Powered by Blogger.