Header Ads

ICC T20 World Cup | Second Consecutive Defeat To India, New Zealand Won By 8 Wickets

In the T20 World Cup, New Zealand defeated India by 8 wickets after a one-sided contest thanks to the excellent performance of the bowlers.

In the Super 12 round match played in Dubai, New Zealand won the toss and invited India to bat.

When India started the innings, the New Zealand bowlers had difficulty in scoring runs due to poor bowling and Ishan Kishan was caught at the boundary due to the same pressure. Trent Bolt had a chance to take another wicket on the next ball but Adam Milne could not catch Rohit Sharma on the boundary.

Taking advantage of the opportunity, Rohit Sharma along with Lokesh Rahul increased the score to 35 but on the same score Rahul gave wicket to Kiwi bowler Tim Southee.

But Rohit Sharma could not take advantage of the drop catch for long and in an attempt to hit another six, he caught Martin Guptill off Ash Sodhi.

The New Zealand bowlers have continued to bowl Napi Tali, which has made it difficult for the Indian batsmen to score openly.

Virat Kohli could not help India in difficult times and his 9-run innings came to an end in an attempt to hit a six.

Hardik Pandya and Reshabh Punt also struggled to score runs and the New Zealand fielders also did not give runs with the full support of the bowlers.

The score had reached 71 when India suffered its fifth loss and Punt could not secure his wickets on the ball of Adam Milne.

The New Zealand bowlers' measured bowling and excellent fielding can be gauged from the fact that when Hardak Pandya hit a four off the last ball of the 17th over, it was India's first boundary after 71 balls.

Hardak Pandya played an innings of 23 off 24 balls but in the 19th over of the innings, Bolt dismissed him and returned Shardal Thackeray to the pavilion.

Thanks to 11 runs scored by Ravindra Jadeja in the last over, India managed to score 110 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted overs.

Ravindra Jadeja was India's most successful batsman, scoring 26 off 19 balls with one six and two fours.

For New Zealand, Trent Bolt took three for 20 while Ash Sodhi took four for 17.

In pursuit of the target, the openers gave New Zealand a 24-run lead but then Martin Guptill could not understand Bumrah's slow ball and was caught after scoring 20 runs.

Daryl Mitchell was joined by skipper Kane Williamson and both batted smoothly, setting up a 72-run partnership for the second wicket to reach the target.

Mitchell batted aggressively and played an innings of 49 off 35 balls but could not complete a half-century and became Bumrah's second wicket.

New Zealand then won by 33 balls without losing any more wickets.

Earlier, New Zealand captain Ken Williamson won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Two changes have been made in the Indian team for the match and Surya Kumar Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are not playing this match.

India have replaced Ishan Kishan and Shraddha Thakur in the final XI.

New Zealand have also made a change to their squad, replacing Tim Seifert with Adam Milne.

Both teams lost their first match in the World Cup. 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.