Header Ads

T20 World Cup | Afghanistan's Second Victory In The T20 World Cup, Defeat Namibia By 62 Runs

In the T20 World Cup match, Afghanistan defeated Namibia by 62 runs to win the event for the second time.

In the match played in Abu Dhabi, Afghanistan captain Muhammad Nabi won the toss and elected to bat first and scored 160 runs for the loss of 5 wickets.

When Afghanistan started batting, Hazratullah Zazai and Mohammad Shehzad gave the team a 53-run lead against Namibia.

The partnership came to an end when Hazratullah scored 33 off 27 balls in the seventh over and was bowled by JJ Smith.

Rehmanullah Gurbaz and Mohammad Shehzad had taken the score to 68 when Rehmanullah was declared LBW after scoring four runs.

Mohammad Shehzad played an innings of 45 runs but he could not complete half a century and caught Schultz on the ball of Termalman on the aggregate of 89 while Najibullah also scored only 7 runs.

After losing four wickets for 113 runs, captain Mohammad Nabi came to support Asghar Afghan and both of them batted aggressively in the final overs and formed a partnership of 35 runs. Asghar was dismissed after scoring 31 runs off 23 balls.

Mohammad Munbi continued his aggressive batting and played an innings of 32 off 17 balls which helped Afghanistan score 160 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the stipulated overs.

Namibia's John Nicole Lofty Eaton and Triple Man took two wickets each while Smiths took one.

Namibia started the innings with Naveen-ul-Haq leading Craig Williams in the first over and then ending Michael Van Lingen's innings in his next over.

Before the end of the power play, Namibia suffered its third loss when John Nicole Lofty Eaton took the wicket of Gulbadin Naib after scoring 14 runs.

The score had just reached 36 when Rashid Khan walked Zain Green in his first over to give the team its fourth victory.

Captain Gerhard Erasmus and David Wiese completed the team's half-century but Erasmus became Hamid Hassan's wicket after scoring 12 off 14 balls and JJ Smiths' innings came to an end a ball later.

Namibia's wicket-taking could not be stopped and Naveen-ul-Haq took the third victory to move John Frylink to six runs while Paki or France could score only three runs.

David Wiese played an innings of 26 runs but Hamid Hassan continued to bowl brilliantly and took the third wicket.

Namibia scored 98 for 9 in the allotted overs and Afghanistan won the match by 62 runs.

For Afghanistan, Hamid Hassan spelled brilliantly and took 3 wickets for just 9 runs, but Naveenul Haq, who took three important wickets for 26 runs, was declared the best player of the match.

Both teams consisted of these players for the match.

Afghanistan: Hazratullah Zazai, Mohammad Shehzad, Rehmanullah Garbaz, Asghar Afghan, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (Captain), Karim Janat, Gulbuddin Naib, Rashid Khan, Naveenul Haq, Hamid Hassan.

Namibia: Gerhard Erasmus (captain), Zane Green, Craig Williams, David Wiese, Michael Van Langen, JJ Smiths, Jane Freelink, Pecky or Frances, Jane Nicole Lofty Eaton, Robin Trumppelman, Bernard Scholes

No comments

Powered by Blogger.