Header Ads

T20 World Cup: Bangladesh Lose To West Indies After A Thrilling Contest

West Indies beat Bangladesh by 3 runs in a thrilling match in the Super 12 round match of T20 World Cup.

In the match played at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bowl, which proved to be correct.

The West Indies openers did not give the team a good start and both batsmen Chris Gayle and Avon Lewis returned to the pavilion with a total score of 12 and 18 respectively.

Chris Gayle was bowled by Mehdi Hassan for an individual score of 4 while Avon Lewis fell victim to Mustafizur Rehman.

On this occasion, Shamron Hitmeyer and Ruston Chase tried to lead the team, but on a total score of 32, Hitmeyer's courage was also answered and he was caught by Mehdi Hassan's ball by making 9.

After losing three wickets for 32 runs, captain Karen Pollard came to support Ruston Chase and both added 30 runs for the fourth wicket but at this stage Pollard retired due to injury and returned to the pavilion.

New batsman Andre Russell unfortunately ran out without playing a ball and returned to the pavilion after which Nicholas Puran's wicket came.

Puran and Ruston Chase put on an aggressive partnership of 57 runs, Puran adopted an aggressive style and scored 40 off 22 balls with the help of 4 sixes.

On the very next ball, Sharif-ul-Islam ended the innings of Ruston Chase who resorted to 46 balls to score 39 runs.

Thanks to 19 runs scored in the last over, the West Indies managed to score 142 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted overs.Mehdi Hassan, Mustafizur Rehman and Shariful Islam took two wickets each for Bangladesh.

When Bangladesh started chasing the target, Haydenwash, who was standing at midwicket with a total score of 20, could not take an easy catch of Bangladeshi batsman Mohammad Naeem, but on the next ball, Andre Russell moved veteran Shakib Al Hasan.

The Bangladesh team had not yet recovered from the loss that in the next over, Jason Holder scattered the wickets of Mohammad Naeem who scored 17 runs.

After that, Sumia Sarkar came to support Lytton Das and together they took the score to 55. West Indies got a chance to run out Lytton Das but they could not take advantage of it.

When the score reached 60, Sumia Sarkar became the wicket of Aqeel Hussain after scoring only 17 runs.

Mushfiqur Rahim along with Lytton Das took the score to 90 but at this stage the experienced Ravi Rampal scattered the wickets of the wicket keeper batsman.

From the other end, Lytton Das continued his excellent batting and played an innings of 44 runs but Jason Holder ended his innings with a brilliant catch on the boundary.

In the last over, Bangladesh needed 13 runs to win but Andre Russell controlled his nerves and allowed Bangladesh to score only 9 runs and thus defending champions West Indies won the match by 3 runs.

Bangladesh scored 139 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the allotted overs. Captain Mahmudullah played an innings of 31 runs but even this effort proved to be insufficient to give victory to Bangladesh.

Nicolas Puran, who played a 40-run innings with four sixes off 22 balls, was declared the man of the match.

The two teams for the match consist of these players:

Bangladesh: Mahmudullah (captain), Lytton Das, Muhammad Naeem, Sumia Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hussain, Mehdi Hassan, Shariful Islam, Taskin Ahmed and Mustafizur Rehman

West Indies: Karen Pollard (captain), Avon Lewis, Chris Gayle, Ruston Chase, Shamron Hittmeier, Nicholas Puran, Andre Russell, Devin Bravo, Jason Holder, Aqeel Hussain and Ray Rampal

No comments

Powered by Blogger.