Header Ads

T20 World Cup: England Beat Bangladesh By 8 Wickets

In the Group One match of the T20 World Cup, England easily won by 8 wickets against Bangladesh thanks to the excellent performance of the bowlers.

In the match played at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat first.

Both Bangladesh openers Lytton Das and Mohammad Naeem returned to the pavilion on a combination of 14, both batsmen were dismissed by Moin Ali.

Shakib Al Hasan, who came in third, also failed to impress in batting and fell victim to Chris Vokes by scoring 4 runs off 26 balls.

Mushfiqur Rahim top-scored with 29 and was dismissed in the fourth ball of the 11th over when Bangladesh were 63, followed by Afif Hussain's 73. Afif Hussain scored 5 runs and got out in an attempt to take a run between the wickets.

Captain Mahmudullah also failed to get the team out with difficulty and returned to the pavilion with a total score of 83 for just 19.

Mehdi Hassan scored 11 runs and became the wicket of Mills on the score of 98. His next batsman Nasim Ahmed supported Noorul Hassan and both the batsmen increased the score to 124 runs.

Noorul Hassan was dismissed for 16, after which Mustafizur Rehman was dismissed for zero.

Bangladesh scored 124 for 9 in the allotted 20 overs.

For England, Mills took the most 3 wickets, Moin Ali and Livingston took 2.2 wickets.

In pursuit of the target, England opener Jose Butler scored 18 runs and became the wicket of Nasim Ahmed. However, both the openers shared 39 runs in the first wicket partnership.

Jason Roy completed his half century and played an innings of 61 off 38 balls with the help of 5 fours and 3 sixes.

England achieved the target by 126 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in the first ball of the 15th over.

David Milan (28) and Johnny Bairstow (8) remained unbeaten. Jason Roy was named man of the match.

Earlier, Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah won the toss and elected to bat first. He said that a change has been made in the team and Shariful Islam has been made a part of the team.

England captain Owen Morgan said that he has played a lot on this wicket in the IPL and it looks as good today as it did then.

Both teams consisted of the following players:

England: Owen Morgan (captain), Jason Roy, Jose Butler, David Milan, Johnny Bairstow, Liam Livingston, Moin Ali, Chris Vokes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid and Time Mills

Bangladesh: Mahmudullah (captain), Lytton Das, Muhammad Naeem, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hussain, Noorul Hassan, Mehdi Hassan, Shariful Islam, Nasim Ahmed and Mustafizur Rehman

No comments

Powered by Blogger.