Header Ads

Ballon d'Or 2021: Nominees, Favorites, Rules

The winner of the Ballon d'Or 2021 will be announced on November 29th. Who is nominated? Which titles are still awarded? And what is the Ballon d'Or anyway? An overview.

In 2020 the ceremony fell victim to the corona pandemic, in 2021 there will be another winner and a winner of the Ballon d'Or: on Monday 29 November, the prestigious awards will be presented at the Parisian Theater du Chatelet. The most important questions and answers in advance.

What is the Ballon d'Or anyway?

The French trade magazine "France Football" awards the prestigious award, which was to be understood as "European Footballer of the Year" until 2006, since 1956. Initially reserved for European players, the Ballon d'Or opened in 1995 for all players in Europe play, in 2007 for all players worldwide - and in 2018 for women too. The most important criterion is the athletic performance of the player in the calendar year (individually as well as in the club and national team), the second most important is the quality of the player, also with regard to fair play. The overall career should be considered as the third most important factor.

Between 2010 and 2015 "France Football" cooperated with FIFA, which meant that FIFA World Footballers and Ballon d'Or were temporarily one and the same prize. Since 2016, however, the world association has again been awarding its own trophy, the FIFA world footballer, which will be awarded for the year 2021 on January 17, 2022.

How do you vote? And who can vote?

The editors of "France Football" select 30 players from the men, who are then presented to an international crowd of journalists for election, with only one representative from each country taking part; in Germany this is kicker chief reporter Karlheinz Wild. Each member of the jury awards points in descending order to five players - 6, 4, 3, 2 and 1. The player with the most points wins the Ballon d'Or. In the event of a tie, it decides who was placed in first position more often. "France Football" will gradually publish the results in the early evening.

Which 30 players are nominated this year?

Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

N'golo Kanté (Chelsea)

Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus Turin)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Raheem Sterling ( Manchester City)

Nicolo Barella (Inter Mailand)

Lionel Messi (PSG)

Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

Pedri (FC Barcelona)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus Turin)

Kevin De Bruyne(Manchester City)

Neymar (PSG)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Mailand)

Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Simon Kjaer (AC Mailand)

Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern)

Jorginho (Chelsea)

Mohamed Salah (FC Liverpool)

Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

Romelu Lukaku ( Chelsea)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)

Phil Foden (Manchester City)

Kylian Mbappé (PSG)

Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

Erling Haaland and Robert Lewandowski from the Bundesliga are in the running, a German player is not one of the 30 nominees. The Champions League finalists Chelsea and Manchester City each have five candidates, the most.

Who is the favorite for the Ballon d'Or 2021?

Record winner Lionel Messi, who won the trophy for the sixth time in the most recent election in 2019, is just ahead of the bookmakers. Robert Lewandowski, named FIFA World Player in 2020, is hot on his heels when it comes to the odds. Well behind are European Footballer of the Year Jorginho, who was Champions League winner and European champion in 2021, Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah and Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema. European championship top scorer Cristiano Ronaldo is hardly given any chances.

What other trophies will be awarded on November 29th?

For women, the 20 nominees for the "Ballon d'Or Féminin" include neither German players nor Bundesliga professionals. The favorite is Alexia Putellas from Champions League winner FC Barcelona, ​​who had already been voted Europe's Footballer of the Year.

In addition, on November 29th, "France Football" will again be awarding the "Kopa Trophy", named after the former Ballon d'Or winner Raymond Kopa, for the best player under the age of 21 (deadline: December 31st). Among the ten nominees are Dortmund's Jude Bellingham and Giovanni Reyna as well as the German national players Jamal Musiala (FC Bayern) and Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen). Only previous Ballon d'Or winners are entitled to vote. The only winners of this trophy so far have been Kylian Mbappé (2018) and Matthijs de Ligt (2019).

The "Yashin Trophy", named after the former world-class goalkeeper Lev Yashin, will only be awarded for the second time. A jury of journalists selects the best keeper of the calendar year. The ten nominees: Ederson (Manchester City), Edouard Mendy (Chelsea), Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG), Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester), Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa), Jan Oblak (Atletico), Keylor Navas (PSG), Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern) and Samir Handanovic (Inter).

No comments

Powered by Blogger.