Header Ads

T20 World Cup: New Zealand Beat Namibia By 52 Runs

In a crucial Group Two match of the T20 World Cup, New Zealand easily won the match by 52 runs after giving Namibia a target of 164 runs and gained two valuable points.

In the match being played in Sharjah, Namibia won the toss and invited New Zealand to bat first.

New Zealand started batting cautiously and the two openers put up a 30-run partnership in 4 overs.

Martin Guptill scored 18 off 18 balls and gave the wicket to Visa. He hit a four and a six.

Daryl Mitchell also failed to play a big innings and returned to the pavilion after scoring 19 runs off 15 balls.

Kiwi skipper Ken Williamson made a good partnership with Devon Conway for the third wicket but Erasmus wrapped up his 28-run innings with a total of 81.

David Conway was the last batsman to be dismissed, he faced 18 balls and was run out for 17 runs by Erasmus and Berkenstein.

Glenn Phillips and James Neesham took the offensive line and led the team to a reasonable total and both the batsmen did not allow any more wickets in the allotted overs.

New Zealand scored 163 for 4 in the allotted overs.

Phillips scored 39 off 21 balls with one four and three sixes.

Neesham's 35-run innings consisted of one four and two sixes off 23 balls.

Namibia's openers got off to a good start in pursuit of the target and scored 47 runs in partnership.

Michael Van Langen was the first batsman to be dismissed for 25 off 25 balls with two fours and a six.

Stephen Bard scored 21 runs, the senator blew his wickets, Namibia's score was 51 runs.

Captain Erasmus also could not stay on the wicket for long and returned with a wicket of 55 to Tim Southee.

Namibia scored 111 for 7 in the allotted overs.

Both teams consist of these players:

New Zealand: Ken Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Sentner, Tim Southee, Trent Bolt, Ash Sodhi, Adam Milne

Namibia: Gerhard Erasmus (captain), Stephen Bard, Michael Van Lingen, Craig Williams, David Wiese, JJ Smith, Jane Nicole Lofty Eaton, Zane Green, Carl Birkin Stock, Robin Trumpman, Bernard Scholes

No comments

Powered by Blogger.