Header Ads

T20 World Cup | Now Understand Why Australia Is Called The Super Power Of Cricket World?

Australia have won the ODI Cricket World Cup a record five times, but surprisingly they have become world champions for the first time in T20. Thus, the only medal that Australia has not won so far, has finally been placed on its chest in 2021.

It was a year when expectations were low for Australia, especially after a crushing defeat at the hands of England in the group stage, the prospects for Australia looked bleak.

However, the way Australia returned to the event after this match and won the trophy by defeating the toughest opponent, proves why Australia is finally called the super power of the world of cricket.

Another one-sided Australia-New Zealand final

The first time Australia and New Zealand met in a World Cup final was in 2015, when Australia beat New Zealand by a huge margin at the historic Melbourne Stadium to win the World Cup for the record 5th time. Therefore, before the final of the T20 World Cup 2021, there was talk of revenge for this defeat.

New Zealand had beaten England in the semi-finals, which led to their defeat in the final of the 2019 World Cup, so it was expected that they would also settle the score with Australia. But this time there was a toss-up between him and the 'revenge'.

Decide on the toss

In the T20 World Cup 2021, the toss has played such an important, if not terrible, role that in almost all the important matches of the Super 12 stage, the team which won the toss and took the fielding first, the success kissed its steps. The only exception was South Africa, who beat England in their last match despite losing the toss. But even this extraordinary achievement did not take them to the semi-finals.

However, the most important field in the final, the toss, was named after Australia captain Aaron Finch, and the triumphant smile on his face after winning was telling.

The importance of this toss can be gauged from the fact that both the finalists have lost one by one in the tournament and these were the matches in which they lost the toss. Australia and New Zealand have all won in the competitions where they have won the toss, even in the semi-finals, both of which have beaten their rivals by winning the toss and chasing the target.

If you look at the final arena of Dubai, then 11 out of 12 matches of the World Cup were won by the same team which won the toss and invited the opponent to bat.

Therefore, as soon as the toss was lost, the circumstances, events, emotions and feelings for New Zealand suddenly changed. It was New Zealand's first T20 World Cup final, while Australia reached the final of the tournament once in 2010. When New Zealand reached the final of the ODI World Cup for the first time in 2015, it was up against its 'neighbor' Australia and even there it was doomed to defeat.

New Zealand, good start, bad end

New Zealand got off to a good start, but also gave their batsmen new life and new opportunities. Australia dropped a few catches here as well as in the semi-finals. Martin Guptill's catch was short behind the wickets when he was at zero, while captain Ken Williamson was given a new lease of life on 21, after which he played an excellent innings of 85 off 48 balls.

But the batsmen who came after him could not show any special performance. Jimmy Neshim's magic did not work and at the end of 20 overs New Zealand could only collect a total of 172 runs. Australia had even achieved the target of 177 runs against Pakistan, it was even lower score.

Then we did not see the same zeal in New Zealand bowling that Pakistan had. Pakistan had almost knocked Australia out of the semi-finals but New Zealand could not dominate it even for a moment. David Warner's storming 53 off 38 balls and then Mitchell Marsh's memorable innings of 77 off 50 balls took him to the target in the 19th over.

With the exception of New Zealand's Trent Bolt, all the bowlers were at the mercy of the Australian batsmen. After struggling against Shadab Khan in the semi-finals, it was seen that Australia had done a lot of homework against the spinners. And this was expressed by Ash Sodhi's 40 runs in 3 overs.

How long will New Zealand only win hearts?

Thus, New Zealand once again won only the heart. Over the last few years, he has reached the finals of four ICC tournaments, winning only one of them, the World Test Championship. From the World Cup 2015 to the World Cup 2019 and now in the final of the T20 World Cup 2021, the defeat was the fate of the Kiwis.

But on the other hand, Australia's record in the finals is excellent. Australia learned a lot from losing the final in the 1996 World Cup, followed by the World Cup in 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015 and now the T20 World Cup final in 2021. The lone defeat was in the 2010 T20 World Cup. The ditch where he was defeated by England. It was Australia's only defeat in a World Cup final of any format in the last 25 years.

New age, new champions

For the second time in history, Australia performed exceptionally well to reach the final of the T20 World Cup. It suffered a crushing defeat at the hands of England in their most important match in the Super 12 stage, but then returned to the tournament in earnest.

Bangladesh were bowled out for 73 and then scored 158 against the West Indies in the 17th over and beat Pakistan in the semi-finals after a tough contest. Then in the biggest match of the final, Australia performed well and thus became the world champion of T20 for the first time.

Interestingly, just as Australia has won the T20 World Cup for the first time, we have seen a new champion in the last four ICC tournaments. For example, in 2017 Pakistan won the Champions Trophy for the first time, then in 2019 England lifted the World Cup trophy for the first time in history and this year in 2021 New Zealand became the first champions of the Test Championship.

David Warner, Turp's address

Veteran opener David Warner proved to be Turp's address for Australia in this tournament. He was not expected to perform in the Indian Premier League due to disappointing performance and poor overall form. But after Babar Azam, he became the highest scoring batsman in T20 World Cup 2021 and to reach here he played important innings in the most important matches.

He remained 89 not out in the last group match against West Indies, scored 49 against Pakistan in the semi-final and then scored 53 in the final against New Zealand. On this basis, David Warner was also declared the best player of the tournament.

The decline of Asian cricket?

Pakistan won the Cricket World Cup in 1992 and since then, whether it is the World Cup ODI or T20, we usually see one or the other Asian team in the final.

For example, Sri Lanka won in 1996, Australia defeated Pakistan in the final in 1999. India was against Australia in 2003 and Sri Lanka in 2007. In the same year, the World Cup also started in the T20 format, in the final of which a memorable Pak-India match was witnessed.

Then in the 2009 T20 World Cup final, Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka. The final of the 2011 World Cup was played between India and Sri Lanka. The West Indies and Sri Lanka competed in the T20 World Cup in 2012, while Sri Lanka defeated India in 2014.

It was the last World Cup in which an Asian rival reached the final. After that, non-Asian teams reached the finals in World Cup 2015, T20 World Cup 2016, World Cup 2019 and T20 World Cup 2021.

In other words, the last four ICC World Cup tournaments proved to be very disappointing for the Asian teams. In this T20 World Cup, the situation was more depressing because Pakistan was the only Asian team in the semi-finals, all the other teams were eliminated in the first round.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.