Header Ads

The Incredible Data Of Messi And Cristiano With The Ballon d'Or

Messi, with seven trophies, and Cristiano, with five, are the players who have won the prize that distinguishes the footballer of the year the most times.

The Ballon d'Or enters retirement age, completing 66 editions this season. The prize that distinguishes the best footballer of the year came to light at the same time as the birth of the European Cup, choosing as winners until 1995 players who had only and exclusively European nationality, depriving Pelé or Maradona through that rule of having won. some twisted It is an award that has enjoyed great rivalries such as the one between Messi and Cristiano in the last decade or that between Platini and Van Basten in the 80s.


The youngest winner of this award was Ronaldo Nazario , who did so at just 21 years and 92 days when he was a member of the Inter Milan ranks in 1997 and also became the first South American to achieve it. The Brazilian is one of a select list of multiple award winners that includes Di Stéfano, Cruyff, Beckenbauer, Keegan, Rummenigge, Platini, Van Basten and the aforementioned Ronaldo.

A Historic Beating

Kaká was the last Ballon d'Or, back in 2007, to win the trophy before Messi and Cristiano monopolized it for 13 years with a brief interruption from Luka Modric in 2018. In total, the Argentine has seven Ballon d'Ors for the five of the Portuguese, who came to equal him in 2017 after winning several consecutive Champions Leagues with Real Madrid.

Cristiano won his first Ballon d'Or at the age of 23, while Messi did it at 22. The 34-year-old Argentine won the trophy at a veteran age, but by no means the most bulky. In the year of the premiere of the award, the Englishman Stanley Matthews kept it at the age of 41 playing for Blackpool. We do not want to say that it was a robbery that he won Alfredo Di Stéfano by three votes in his splendor, but something strange smells of that award.


This 2022 season, a renewal is expected regarding the winner of the Ballon d'Or. Messi has it impossible after achieving his worst scoring records since juniors at Paris Saint Germain. With Cristiano Ronaldo, three quarters of the same thing happens with the addition that Manchester United has been far from being a benchmark team. Everything indicates that Benzema or Salah - whoever wins the Champions League - will win a prize in which the World Cup performance does not count from the month of November.

Do You Know What We Have Posted on

twitter facebook instagram reddit

No comments

Powered by Blogger.